Sign In

​Trending Searches:     Fire & Rescue Reform | Parks | Library

Office of Elections
Elected Officials


PWC Directory of Elected Officials (Federal, Statewide and State Legislature)(link)

Prince William County Local Elected Officials (link)

National Officials

In addition to the President and Vice President, Virginia is represented in Congress by: 

Two U.S Senators elected state-wide serve six-year staggered terms.

Three members of U.S. House of Representatives represent parts of Prince William County (the 1st, 10th, and 11th Districts). These officials serve two-year terms and elections are held in even-numbered years.


Elections for Virginia’s Governor, Lt. Governor and Attorney General are held the year following a Presidential election. They each serve for four years and the Governor is limited to one term. He may run again after there has been an intervening Governor.

Virginia’s state senators serve for four years and are elected two years after the Governor. Prince William County has five State Senators (Senate Districts 13, 28, 29, 36, and 39).

Virginia Delegates serve for two years and are elected in odd-numbered years. Prince William County has eight Delegates (Districts 2, 13, 31, 40, 50, 51, 52, and 87).

Local Officials
(Prince William County)

Elections for Local Offices are held every four years in the year before a Presidential election. These include:

Board of Supervisors (8)one for each magisterial district and one at-large Chairman
School Board (8)one for each magisterial district and one at-large Chairman
Clerk of the Court (1)serves an 8-year term
Commonwealth’s Attorney (1)serves a 4-year term
Sheriff (1)serves a 4-year term
Soil & Water Conservation District Board Directors (3)serve 4-year terms


Town Officials

Prince William County holds Town Elections for the towns of Dumfries, Haymarket, Occoquan and Quantico in May of even-numbered years.  Each town has its own Mayor and Town Council.

Dumfries’ officials serve four-year terms; the Mayor and three Town Council members are elected in off-year elections (the even-numbered years between Presidential elections) and the other three council members are elected in Presidential years.

The towns of Haymarket, Occoquan and Quantico elect their officials to two-year terms. Haymarket has six council members and Occoquan and Quantico each have five council members.

Town Officials assume office on July 1st of the year elected.



You are now leaving the official Prince William County Government website.