Sign In

Trending Searches: Job OpportunitiesParks | Library

Police Department
Organization Structure

Office of the CHIEF OF POLICE

The Chief of Police, Colonel B.M. Barnard, is the commanding officer of the Department and, with the assistance of the Deputy Chief, Lieutenant Colonel S.J. Thompson, he has the obligation to provide efficient and effective police services to the residents and visitors of Prince William County. The Chief is responsible for the planning and direction of all Department activities and is the final authority in all matters of policy, operations and discipline. Falling within the Office of the Chief are the Public Information Office, the Office of Professional Standards, the Chaplain Program and the Peer Support Team.

  • The Public Information Office, headed by Sergeant J.L. Perok, is responsible for coordinating press releases to the news media concerning Department activities and criminal incidents, maintaining the Department’s web site and social media presence, serves as a liaison to the Crime Solvers program and produces the Annual Report. To learn more about this office, please click here.
  • The Office of Professional Standards, headed by Captain B.W. Simms, investigates allegations of misconduct by Department personnel and all use-of-force incidents. To learn more about filing a compliment or complaint, please click here.
  • The Chaplain Program, headed by Lieutenant T.D. Van Horn, assists police officers in making notifications to families, assists those families as needed, and also assists police officers as needed.
  • The Peer Support Team, headed by Major D.M. Harman, falls under the newly created Wellness & Resiliency Unit and helps emergency services workers handle stress after critical incidents.

back to top



Pulaski.Thomas 590.jpgThe Financial and Technical Services Division is headed by Senior Administrative Manager T.J. Pulaski. Falling within the Financial and Technical Services Division are the Fiscal and Policy Management Bureau and the Information Technology Management Bureau.

  • The Fiscal and Policy Management Bureau, headed by Administrative Analyst A.F. Sargent, is responsible for fiscal services, budget development, compensation, benefits, purchasing, and accounts payable.
  • The Information Technology Management Bureau, headed by Lieutenant J.C. Elahi, is responsible for desktop and software support services, GIS applications services, and mobile data/wireless application support.

back to top



Harman, Dawn M.jpgThe Support Services Division, headed by Major D.M. Harman, provides support services to the Office of the Chief, the Financial & Technical Services Division, the Operations Division and the Criminal Investigations Division. Falling within the Support Services Division are the Administrative Services Bureau, the Personnel Bureau, the Animal Control Bureau, the Criminal Justice Academy, and Public Safety Communications (which is jointly administered by the Police Department and the Department of Fire & Rescue).

  • The Administrative Services Bureau, headed by Captain S.A. Hrubes, handles all evidence and property coming into the possession of the Department, Records, Licensing, and Fleet Management, among other areas.
  • The Personnel Bureau, headed by Lieutenant E.M. Welsh, is responsible for the recruiting, processing, and selection of applicants to the Department, coordination of police volunteers and the career development program, Department physical examinations, and supervision of the polygraph function. To learn more about our job opportunities, please click here.
  • The Animal Control Bureau, headed by Captain C.P. Feather, enforces animal welfare laws, conducts animal education seminars, houses stray and unwanted animals in a clean and safe environment, and coordinates the adoption of housed animals. To learn more about our Animal Shelter, please click here.
  • The Criminal Justice Academy, headed by Captain E.J. Barnhart, conducts all basic and in-service training for police officer candidates and police officers, as well as leadership training for Police Department personnel. It also coordinates citizen training such as the Citizen Police Academy.
  • The Public Safety Communications Center, headed by Captain A.E. Miller, is responsible for all aspects of communication for public safety employees, including 9-1-1. To learn more about our center, please click here.

back to top



Phelps, Jarad L.jpgThe Operations Division, headed by Major J.L. Phelps, is responsible for maintaining police officers in constant operational readiness for immediate response to any call for service requiring police presence. Nearly two-thirds of the Department’s personnel are assigned to the Operations Division, which includes the Patrol Services Bureau, the Special Operations Bureau, and the Crossing Guard Section.

  • The Patrol Services Bureau provides 24-hour patrol officer coverage throughout the County. Patrol officers are generally the first response to any type of police call for service and are prepared to respond to any emergency. The Bureau is divided into three patrol districts, the Eastern District headed by Captain C.A. Van Antwerp, the Western District headed Captain P.J. Cecere, and the Central District headed by Captain J.L. Carr. To learn more about our patrol service districts, please click here.
  • The Special Operations Bureau, headed by Captain S.A. Vago, manages the activities of the Department’s specialized operational units which include the Crash Investigation Unit, K-9 Unit, Traffic Unit, the Crime Prevention Unit, the Tactical Training & Response Unit, Mounted Patrol Unit, Search & Rescue Team, the Honor Guard team, the SWAT Team, the Underwater Search & Recovery Team, the Civil Disturbance Team, the Marine Unit and the Auxiliary Police Unit. To learn more about our specialty units, please click here.
  • The Crossing Guard Section, headed by Lieutenant A.M. Snyder, is responsible for traffic direction at school crossings and parking enforcement. To learn more about our Crossing Guards, please click here.

back to top



Hughart, Kevin L.jpgThe Criminal Investigations Division, headed by Major K.L Hughart, with the assistance of Deputy Division Commander [currently vacant], investigates major criminal offenses and manages the Department's juvenile education programs. Falling within the Criminal Investigations Division is the Special Investigations Bureau, the Violent Crimes Bureau, the Youth Services Bureau, the Special Victims Bureau and the Property Crimes Bureau.

  • The Special Investigations Bureau headed by Lieutenant B.R. Dudley, investigates drugs, gambling, prostitution and gang-related crimes. The Bureau is also a member of a regional narcotics task force working on major drug conspiracy cases that affect Prince William County and surrounding areas.
  • The Violent Crimes Bureau, headed by Lieutenant B.P. Crowley, investigates major offenses against persons such as robbery, rape, homicide, aggravated assaults, Identity Fraud crimes, and Homeland Security investigations.
  • The Youth Services Bureau, headed by Lieutenant S.B. Ash, oversees the School Resource Officer (SRO) Program for the department. This bureau is one of the largest in CID, assigning sworn resource officers to all County middle and high schools. To learn more about our School Resource Officer Program, please click here
  • The Special Victims Bureau, headed by Lieutenant J.J. Poirier, investigates offenses committed by or against juveniles, as well as domestic violence complaints.
  • The Property Crimes Bureau, headed by Lieutenant C.S. Lawhead, investigates major offenses against property such as burglary, larcenies, and motor vehicle theft.

back to top


You are now leaving the official Prince William County Government website.