Sign In

Trending Searches: Job OpportunitiesParks | Library

Police Department
Awards and Recognition
The Police Department or its members won the following awards or earned the following recognition in 2018:

Loudoun County  (Va.) Sheriff's Office Awards: The Northern Virginia Gang Task Force (NVGTF) -- which includes the Prince William County Police Department -- received the Meritorious Action Award from the Loudoun County, Va., Sheriff's Office. This award recognizes an individual, or team of individuals, who have demonstrated exemplary action in response to a specific emergency situation, or as part of a routine event, where the member's exceptional performance merits special recognition. The award was given to the NVGTF for a 2017 investigation where a coordinated effort from multiple jurisdictions resulted in the arrest of several violent MS-13 gang members.

Police Officer of the Year Award, Dale City Civic Association: Officer Bill VanAntwerp was honored on Jan. 27, 2018, for his work in 2017 in the Dale City community. In November 2017, two chain convenience stores were robbed at gunpoint. Anticipating that the suspect might attempt to rob another store in the chain, Officer VanAntwerp responded to one in Dale City, observed the suspect, and ran a track with K-9 Anibus that resulted in the suspect's arrest and recovery of items from the two robberies.  His police work keeps the Dale City community safer.
County Government Employees of the Month: Officer John Mora and Patricia Charron were selected as Prince William County Government Employees of the Month for November 2017 for their work organizing and running the Mid-Atlantic Police Motorcycle Rodeo. They went above and beyond their normal duties by working extra hours to make the event a huge success. They were recognized on Jan. 23, 2018.
Prince William County Human Rights Award: Major Jarad Phelps was one of seven individuals, businesses or County government agencies to be recognized for promoting the principles of human rights in the county. Major Phelps received the award for designing and implementing the "Stay True to Blue" course while he was director of the Prince William County Criminal Justice Academy. He received his award on Jan. 13, 2018.

The Police Department or its members won the following awards or earned the following recognition in 2017:
County Government Employees of the Month: Six members of the Special Victims Bureau of the Department's Criminal Investigations Division were selected as Prince William County Government Employees of the Month for October 2017 for their work in solving a series of sexual assaults taking place at a local hotel that involved tourists from Asian nations. They were recognized on Nov. 20, 2017.
U.S. Police Canine Association (USCPA) Region 3 Tracking Trials: Officer K. Strobel and K-9 Abrams tied for first place in the USPCA Region 3 trials! And all participating K-9 teams successfully certified: Officer S. Barrett and K-9 Kane, Officer K. MacFarlane and K-9 Ike, Officer K. Strobel and K-9 Abrams, and First Sergeant M. Blake and K-9 Luke.
MADD Top Law Enforcement Team: Three members of the Department were named the Top Law Enforcement Team in the Walk Like MADD 5k run and walk on Nov. 11, 2017. They are Sergeant Katherine Lewis and Crash Investigators Edwin Cruz Reyes and Joel Lewton.
VASAP/MADD DUI Enforcement Award: Sergeant Jeremy Schenck and Officers Jesse Catellier, Matthew Sciabica and Joseph Wilhelm were honored by the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) and the Northern Virginia chapter of Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) at a ceremony on Sept. 19, 2017. The four officers were recognized for their outstanding DUI enforcement efforts in the County in the previous year. This is the eighth consecutive time Sergeant Schenck has received this award.
Mid-Atlantic Police Motorcycle Rodeo Awards: Officer Joe Kushner took second place in the Expert Division I. Officer Rob Minnick took second place in the Expert Division III. He also took second place in the Expert Division Overall. Officer Mike Hustwayte took third place in the Expert Division III. Officer David Endrizzi took first place in the Novice Division III. He also received the Todd Ricks Award for Overall Novice category. Officer Ron Allen took second place in the Novice Division III. Officer Tom Violette took third place in the Novice Division III. Officer Mike Casey took fourth place in the Novice Challenge Ride. Officers Minnick, Kushner, Endrizzi and Allen earned the Overall Team Award.
County Executive's Awards: Seven Department members earned a County Executive's Award in 2017. Detectives Maria Armstrong, Michelle McAllister and Nicole DelVecchio, and Crime Analysts Megan O'Neill and Dawn Locke-Trillhaase were recognized for their work on a June 2016 proactive investigation into crimes against children. Lieutenant Ruben Castilla was recognized for his commitment to financial wellness among Department members and the larger County government workforce. Vickie Taylor with the Public Safety Resilience Center was recognized for designing and implementing enhanced support services for police, fire & rescue, and public-safety communications personnel.
County Government Employees of the Month: Telecommunicator I Nicole Mauro and Telecommunicator IV Kesha Beckley were selected as Prince William County Government Employees of the Month for March 2017 for their work in identifying an individual who was making false calls to 911, a practice known as "swatting" that is illegal and takes first-responders away from real emergencies while they investigate the false calls. They were recognized on April 10, 2017.
Valor Awards, Prince William Chamber of Commerce: More than 40 Department employees earned Valor Awards during the 31st annual Prince William Chamber of Commerce Valor Awards for acts of bravery and valor in the conduct of their duties. Officer Ashley Guindon (posthumous), Officer David McKeown, and Officer Jesse Hempen received a Gold Medal for Valor. Officers Sarah Colon, Gonzalo Gracia, Kelly Anderson, Stacey Bronisz, Brandon Fields, Rhonda Fields, Mike Flynn, Kenneth Hansen, Randy Johnston, Aaron Lintz, Walter O'Neal, Nelson Rocha, Brandon Rutherford, Kristen Sims, Susan White, Detective Amon Weaver and Sergeant Christopher Moore received a Silver Medal for Valor. Officers Steven Hunsberger and Scott Long received a Bronze Award for Valor. Officers Ben Ware, George Kimball, Luis Potes, Jeffery McKinney, Kevin Hook, Justin Murphy and Ryan Pedroni received the Merit Award for Valor. Detectives Jeremy Johnson, Michelle McAllister, David Cho, Brandon Couch, Brandon Hunt, Josh Lane and First Sergeant Michael Sullivan received the Hillary Robinette Award for Investigative Excellence. Members of the Department's Forensic Services Section and the Violent Crimes Bureau, along with Detective Bryan Sutton, received the Investigative Merit Award.
Virginia's Most Outstanding Crossing Guard of 2017:  Crossing Guard Roger Talley received this recognition from the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) Safe Routes to School program. He was one of six school crossing guards in the entire Commonwealth to receive the recognition.
PWC Schools/PW Health Communities-Healthy Youth Council's Local Hero Award: Officer Dennis Jensen received this award for his work with the Department's Law Enforcement Explorer Post.



You are now leaving the official Prince William County Government website.