Sign In

Trending Searches: Job OpportunitiesParks | Library

Human Rights Office
Student Leadership Council






(From Left to Right)

First Row: Andrew Diaz, Kamilah Coleman (Historian), Rachel Nohe, Regan Harris (Outreach Coodinator), Katherine Reedy, Courtney Parker (Editor),

Second Row: Madelyne Cruz, Seou Park, (Timekeeper), Ethan Heath, Daeja Wilson, Madelyn Magrath, (Vice President) Isabelle Dallaire

Not Pictured: Tinbite Kelemwork (President), Destynee Blackshear (Secretary), Davida Ofosu Mensa (Media Campaign Coordinator), Brooke Mizell, Jada Newton


Application Process Opens August 20, 2018

The Prince William County Human Rights Commission is looking for high school students who are interested in civics and government to serve on its Student Leadership Council. Sophomores, juniors and seniors enrolled in public, private and homeschools in Prince William County are eligible to apply for the leadership council starting Monday, August 20th.


The student council will meet once a month for five months each year at the Kelly Leadership Center. During the five sessions, members will pick human rights issues that are of interest to them. The council members will work to put together a media campaign on the issue and present it to one another. They will also present to a subcommittee of the Human Rights Commission consisting of commission members and county human rights staff.

During several of the sessions, the students will hear from speakers representing local, state and federal government to learn a bit about how government operates at all levels. The speakers, in conjunction with the project the students work on, will hopefully foster an interest in government service.

Questions about the student council can be directed to the Human Rights Office at 703-792-4680 or email

We hope students will consider applying and get started on a fun look at government.


2017-18 Human Rights Student Leadership Council

County Exe.jpg

Student Leadership Council with Chris Martino, PWC County Executive and Denise McPhail, HRSLC Staff Advisor 

(From left to right)

1st Row - Andrew Diaz, Kamilah Coleman, (Historian) Madelyne Cruz, Isabelle Dallaire, Brook Mizell

 2nd Row - Jordan Ashby, Madelyn Magrath, (Vice President)  Tinbite Kelemwork, (President) Rachel Nohe, Seou Park, (Timekeeper) Davida Ofosu Mensah, (Media Campaign Coordinator) Ethan Heath

(Not pictured)

Destumee Blackshear (Secretary), Courtney Parker (Editor), Reagan Harris (Outreach Coodinator) Katherine Reedy, Daeja Wilson, and Jada newton.

General Assembly.jpg



 Lt. Gov JF.jpgHR Leaders.JPG

 During the student's annual visit to Richmond, VA they visited the General Assembly, had lunch with Human Rights Leaders, and had discussion with Lt. Govenor Justin Fairfax

Prince William County
Human Rights Commission
15941 Donald Curtis Drive, Suite 125
Woodbridge, VA


You are now leaving the official Prince William County Government website.