Sign In
alert

Trending Searches:     FY2016 Budget | TaxesParks | Library

Business License

Business License

Business License Renewal Due Date March 2, 2015.

 

Business License Renewals - Businesses that were issued a license for the preceding year: license application and payment in full are due March 2, 2015. Renewal applications postmarked after March 2, 2015, need to include a late payment penalty equaling 10% of the license tax plus daily interest (calculated at a rate of 10% per annum).    

Commercial Businesses, Contractors, Home Based Occupations and Self-Employment - These businesses need to apply for a business license and remit payment in full for any owed license tax. The County's license tax is imposed on businesses with gross receipts (purchases in the case of wholesale merchants) exceeding $250,000 for a license year.   

New Businesses - Within 30 days of beginning a business (start date), owners must apply for a business license and remit payment in full for any license tax due. If the application is filed outside of 30 days from the business start date, a late payment penalty equaling 10% of the license tax plus daily interest (calculated at a rate of 10% per annum) must be included.  

Apply for a Business License  

2015 Application for Business, Professional, and Occupational License Form

Prior year license applications

2014 Application for Business, Professional, and Occupational License Form

2013 Application for Business, Professional, and Occupational License Form

2012 Application for Business, Professional, and Occupational License Form

2011 Application for Business, Professional, and Occupational License Form

Licensing Requirements - Businesses operating in Prince William County are required to apply for a business license. With few exceptions, a separate license is required for each individual business location and for each individual business operation/occupation/profession.  

The requirements for a business license differ by business type and circumstance. The requirements are explained in greater detail within the license application. Additional information and answers to common questions can be found in the Business License Instruction Sheet.

Licensing Tax - No license tax is imposed on businesses that have gross receipts (purchases in the case of wholesale merchants) less than $250,000 for the license year, but these businesses must still file a business license application.        

Contractors - The following documentation is required.    

  1. Copy of the Virginia-issued Contractor's License
  2. County Home Improvement Contractor License - For use by those contractors or persons engaging in the home improvement business who are not required to be licensed by the state as a contractor.
  3. Affidavit for Contractor License Exemption - Affidavit to be completed for each contractor claiming exemption from the Virginia Contractor License requirement. (Code of Virginia § 54.1-1111)

Home-Based/Self Employed Businesses - The County zoning ordinance requires persons engaged in a home occupation to obtain a Home Occupation Certificate

Starting a Business - Starting a new business, whether commercial or home-based, owners should contact the Planning Zoning Administration Office at 703-792-6830 and speak with a Zoning Technician. 

Business Located in a Town - Businesses located in Dumfries, Haymarket, Occoquan, and Quantico should contact their respective town offices for information concerning their town's business license requirements. 

More Information For more information, refer to the County BPOL Ordinance Chapter 11.1 Licenses Generally - Article II Business Professional and Occupational License.

 
 

Disclaimer

You are now leaving the official Prince William County Government website.