Prepayment Online
You may make prepayments for fines and other minor offenses through the Courts Automated Information System.
 
Prepayment in Person
Prepayments can be made in person before the Court date at the General District Court, located at 9311 Lee Avenue. The Court will accept cash, check, money order or credit card payments.
 
Prepayment by Mail
Prepayments must be received five (5) days prior to the hearing date when sent by mail with the yellow copy of the summons. The Court will not be responsible if any delays occur due to mail service. Make check or money order payable to General District Court, and mail your prepayments to:
General District Court
9311 Lee Ave., Suite JU145 
Manassas, VA  20110 
Attn: Prepayment
Prepayment/Payment by Telephone
Credit card prepayments may be paid before the hearing date by phone at 703-792-6141.
To pay your fine after the hearing date, you may also call 703-792-6141.  Only VISA or MASTERCARD will be accepted over the phone.
 
Please Note: All District Courts will assess a 4% credit card convenience fee for credit card payments. This fee is applicable to all credit card payments accepted by phone, in person and via Internet.
 
Failure to Pay FinesIf delays occur, or if you do not appear on the Court date or pay the fines and costs prior to the Court date, the Court will proceed to try the case in your absence and, upon conviction, the judge may impose a fine that is different from the amounts shown on this page. Also, pursuant to Virginia Code Section 16.1-69.48:1, an additional penalty of $35.00 will be assessed. 
 
Pursuant to Virginia Code Section 46.2-395, your privilege to drive will be suspended if fines and costs are not paid within 15 days of conviction.
 
The following violations are not prepayable offenses:
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol
  • Reckless driving
  • No operator’s license
  • DWI & DUI
If payment is for more than one violation arising out of the same incident, add only $15.00 for each additional violation.
 
NOTE: This fee is not collected for seat belt violations or child restraint/safety belt violation.
 
SPECIAL NOTE: If the HIGHWAY SAFETY CORRIDOR box is checked on your summons, the fine is DOUBLED. COURT COSTS HAVE CHANGED
  

Lawyer Referral Service
Prince William County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
703-393-2306, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Monday - Friday.
$35.00 fee for 30 minute consultation with a Lawyer.

If copies are requested: You will be charged $1.00 for the first  page, $1.00 for second page and $.50 for each additional page.

 

Prepayable Fines:
 
LAW SECTION
DESCRIPTION OF OFFENSE
FINE/COSTS
TOTAL
a.33.1-46.2
Drive in HOV lane/1st offense
$125/66
$191
46.2-104
Fail to carry license or registration
$10/66
$76
46.2-600
Fail to obtain registration
$25/66
$91
46.2 - 613
Expired Registration 
$25/66
$91
46.2-703
No IRP/IFTA
not prepayable
 
46.2-704
Over license weight
not prepayable
 
46.2-711
Failure to display license plate
$25/66
$91
46.2-715
Improper display of license plate
$25/66
$91
46.2-752
No County sticker
not prepayable
 
46.2-752
No city sticker
not prepayable
 
46.2-802
Fail to drive on right side of highway
$30/66
$96
46.2-803
Fail to keep right in crossing traffic intersection
$30/66
$96
46.2-803
Fail to keep right by railroad ROW
$30/66
$96
46.2-804
Fail to obey highway lane marking
$30/66
$96
46.2-804(A)
Fail to obey highway marking
$30/66
$96
46.2-804(B)
Improper/Erratic lane change
$30/66
$96
46.2-805
Enter or travel lane w/red signal
$30/66
$96
46.2-806
One-way roadway wrong way
$30/66
$96
46.2-807
Fail to drive right of rotary traffic island
$30/66
$96
46.2-808
Being a Pedestrian on a controlled access highway
$30/66
$96
46.2-811
Coasting
$30/66
$96
46.2-812
Driving or allowing vehicle to be driven more than 13 hours in a 24 hour period
$30/66
$96
46.2-816
Following too close
$30/66
$96
46.2-820
Fail to yield right of way to vehicle on right when entering uncontrolled intersection
$30/66
$96
46.2-821
Improperly stopping at stop sign
$30/66
$96
46.2-822
Fail to yield right of way
$30/66
$96
46.2-828
Fail to yield r/o/w to funeral procession under police escort
$30/66
$96
46.2-829
Fail to yield to emergency vehicle
$30/66
$96
46.2-830
Fail to obey highway sign
$30/66
$96
46.2-833
Fail to obey traffic light
$100/66
$166
46.2-833.1
Evading traffic control device
$50/66
$116
46.2-835
Make illegal right turn on red
$50/66
$116
46.2-836
Make illegal left turn on red
  
$116
46.2-870
46.2-871
46.2-872 - 46.2-873.2 - 46.2-874 - 46.2-876 & 46.2-878 & 46.2-881
Speeding is $6 per mile over limit
EXAMPLE: 65 miles in 55 mile per hour zone is 10 miles over
10 x 6 = $60 + $66 costs = $126.00 
 
 
46.2-873
Speeding/School Crossing is $7 per mile over limit
 
EXAMPLE: 35 miles in 25 mile per hour zone; 10 over limit x $7mi = $70 + $66 costs = $136.00
46.2-877
Drive slow speed that impedes traffic
$30/66
$96
46.2-878.1
Speeding/Highway Work Zone is $7 per mile over limit (see above example) plus $66 costs
 
 
46.2-878.2
Speeding/Residence District is $8 per mile over limit plus $66 costs plus additional $204
 
 
46.2-921.1
Failure to yield right of way or reduce speed on highway when approaching stopped vehicle with flashing blue, red or amber lights (not applicable to second and subsequent violations with vehicles flashing blue or red)
$100/66
$166
46.2-1002
Unapproved equipment
$30/66
$96
46.2-1003
Defective equipment
$30/66
$96
 
 
 
 
46.2-1158
Drive after expiration of rejected inspection sticker
$50/66
$116
46.2-1094(A)
Fail to use seat belt by person 16 years of age or older
$25
$25
46.2-1095(A)
Fail to assure that child under four years of age is properly secured in approved child restraint device
$50
$50
46.2-1095(B)
Fail to ensure child four through 15 years of age is properly secured by safety belt
$50 N/A
$50
46.2-1095(C)
Child Restraint 7 & under  2nd/Subsequent
$0
 Not prepayable
46.2-1095(D)
Safety Belt Viol (8-15) 2nd/Subsequent
$0
 Not prepayable
46.2-1098
Child Restraint: Civil penalties for repeat violators 
$500
$500  
46.2-1105
Exceed maximum width of vehicle
$40/66 
$116
46.2-1110
Exceed maximum height of vehicle
$40/66
$116
18.2-460.1(A)
Boarding or riding train without lawful payment of fare
$100/$91  
$191
18.2-160.1(B)
Boarding or riding train without lawful payment of fare
$100/$91
$191
10.1-1151
Hunting or trapping in state forests w/out special use permits
$35/$91
$126
10.1-1153
Hunting or trapping in state forests in violation of restrictions or conditions of special use permit 
$35/$91
$126
4VAC5-30-274
Persons in non-designated areas of state park or failure to comply with safety sign
$50+$91
$141
4VAC5-30-476
Bicycle in non-designated areas of a state park or failure to comply with a safety sign 
$50+$91
$141
4VAC5-30-410
Importation of firewood into a stat park contrary to the limitations imposed by the DCR Director
$100+$91
$191
4VAC5-30-420
Release of animals or wildlife captured or propagated elsewhere into a state park
$50+$91
$141
4VAC-30-422
Feeding wildlife on a state park 
$50+$91 
$141